Inaugural Donald M. Ephraim Prize in Law and Economics

The University of Chicago Law School invites nominations for the inaugural Donald M. Ephraim Prize in Law and Economics.

The Prize recognizes an early-career scholar in the field of law and economics whose work has advanced the state of knowledge in the field and whose intellectual impact has the potential to reach the legal academy, legal profession, and beyond.

We encourage you to submit a nomination and share this call for nominations with others in your academic circle.

We seek to identify a leading, early-career scholar in law and economics whose work has influenced the field and promises to have impact into the future and beyond the academy. The nominee should be a faculty member at an accredited law school (in the US or internationally) who has been in the field for approximately ten years or less. We welcome nominees whose scholarship touches on any doctrinal area and whose work employs any methodologies in economics, whether theoretical or empirical.

The Prize includes a $30,000 cash award, and the Prize holder will be invited for brief visits to present research at the University of Chicago Law School during the spring of 2023 and the 2023-2024 academic year. The Prize will be formally awarded and celebrated at a recognition event at the University of Chicago Law School in Spring 2023.

All nominations received by March 10, 2023, will be considered, and self-nominations are welcome! Nominations can be submitted using the link below. A nomination should:

  • identify the nominee
  • provide links to the nominee’s CV and/or other biographical information,
  • identify two or three pieces of scholarship that best represent the nominee’s most important contributions, and
  • provide a short statement (limited to 500 words) of the nominee’s current and expected future impact on law and economics.

After the inaugural term of the prize, the Donald M. Ephraim Prize in Law and Economics will be awarded on a bi-annual basis, with the next prize term to begin in September 2024.